Exhaustion

For some reason, I used to believe that once a child was out of the newborn stage, the days of exhaustion would be over.

Boy was I wrong!

I may no longer be up all night due to a hungry newborn

 

or a toddler that refuses to go to sleep.

 

No… these days, I sleep just fine

because I am so exhausted from the constant run-around

that occurs day in and day out

as a mother of three active children.

 

To sit at home for more than an hour stretch

would somedays

simply be a miracle.

And miracles, if you have forgotten, are rare

which makes them a perfect metaphor to my present reality.

 

I look back and laugh at my naivety

and long for those days when I could nap as they napped

and watch Peppa Pig, Maisy, or even Yo Gabba Gabba.

I wonder how differently I would treat those moments

if I only knew then

what I know now.

 

Life doesn’t slow down…

it speeds up

continually racing by

leaving those in it’s path

in a state of exhaustion

and always seeking that moment of respite…

to finally catch a breath

that is seemingly

forever out of reach.

 

6 thoughts on “Exhaustion

  1. I think you’ve captured the essence of exhausted motherhood beautifully. My girls are 18 and 20 and I can still remember the running and fun. Enjoy it, but don’t forget to catch a few minutes on the couch!

    Like

  2. It’s crazy how we wish away those days, wanting the to be more independent, then look back with a hunger that can’t quite be explained, wanting them back.

    As a dad of a college freshman who won’t be coming home, and a junior daughter who’s kind of figured out where she’s going, those days of being tired will come to an end sooner than you know.

    Cherish each and every day with the active kids, but soon, they’ll be active kids at college! 🙂

    Like

  3. You’ve captured the essence of parenthood in your slice, Jen. As the mom of a six-year-old and a five-month-old, I find I sleep just fine… so long as the kids don’t wake up in the middle of the night. Parenting IS exhausting!

    Like

Leave a comment