The Power of Music

Have you ever experienced that moment when, upon hearing a lyric from a song or even a familiar progression of chords, you are swept away into a memory you thought you had long forgotten? When suddenly the present passes away and you are transported back in time and the sights, the smells, and the sounds all envelop you  and infiltrate your being? I have, and in fact, I experienced it just today.

Let me begin with this, I am a HUGE music fan. From indie rock to pop, classic rock, show tunes and more… I LOVE music. But, if you know me, you know that I am not a country music fan. Maybe it was the constant drone of WGAR growing up, or the fact that every country song seems to talk about cheating on one’s spouse or a dog dying or getting drunk… whatever it is, I am not a fan. I will probably sit and listen to almost any other genre (well… maybe not the terrible electronic stuff my husband sometimes listens to, but I digress…) So how then did I find myself spending over an hour on Spotify today listening to just that? The power of music… that is how.

As I sat and enjoyed the quiet of an almost empty house, a song came on the radio which reminded me of a song I often heard playing over the airwaves growing up. Wanting to hear more, I went and searched out the song and in no time, compiled a playlist of songs that reminded me of my Mom and my grandma, both of whom LOVED country music. Spanning from Johnny Cash to Loretta Lynn, Tammy Wynette, Alabama, and Hank Williams Jr., hearing those familiar chords placed me right back in my grandma’s little two bedroom home. It was almost as if I could hear her and my Mom singing along… and drowning out the hum of the television playing the latest episode of Days of Our Lives.  A warmth came over me as I allowed myself to sit and dwell on those memories… memories that I didn’t know I still possessed as my grandma has been gone for almost 25 years. One small moment in a current song, gave me an afternoon of memories that left my heart feeling full.

This is one of my favorite things about music…its ability to transport you to specific moments in our lives, allowing them to become almost tangible. I am thankful that music possesses that power and even though I still dislike current country music, there will always be a piece of my heart connected to country music’s roots through these memories.

Screen Shot 2017-03-14 at 7.38.08 PM

4 thoughts on “The Power of Music

  1. Kathleen Neagle Sokolowski says:

    I totally agree! Music can bring you back to people and places. My grandfather was a big Willie Nelson fan so whenever I hear “You Were Always On My Mind” or “To All The Girls I’ve Loved Before”, I think of him! Great Slice.

    Like

  2. As I read this the opening lyrics to Trisha Yearwood’s song ‘The Song Remembers When’ came to mind.

    When I heard that old familiar music start
    It was like a lighted match
    Had been tossed into my soul

    Music is a powerful thing. It can evoke a slew of emotions but my favorite is when they can pluck a memory from the back of your mind, kind of like in the movie Inside Out, and in seconds you’re transported back in time. Beautiful slice.

    Like

  3. Music definitely transfers us to different times and places and is so powerful. Thanks for sharing! I have just started a poetry blog here on WordPress in case you have time to have a look? Today’s post is about music. Have a good day, Sam 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

