All my favorite people are broken

blue-kintsugi-bowl-1c

All my favorite people are broken
Believe me, my heart should know
Some prayers are better left unspoken
I just want to hold you and let the rest go
-Over the Rhine

This world is a such messy, beautiful place. There is so much joy, but hidden beneath, so much pain that people are afraid to show for fear that their brokenness will scare others away. We are often so shamed by our past, that we hide our true selves away, only sharing a fractured sliver of the person we truly are beneath.

I was recently reading about the Japanese art of kintsugi in which the cracks in broken pottery are restored rather than seen as defects and thrown aside. Kintsugi embraces the brokenness and incorporates the damage into the aesthetic of the restored item, making it part of the object’s history. Kintsugi uses lacquer resin mixed with powdered gold, silver, platinum, copper or bronze, resulting into something more beautiful than the original. Brokenness turned into beauty…

One day, I hope that we all can learn to embrace our brokenness in the same way that kintsugi artists have learned to embrace pottery imperfections. Our brokenness is our history… it shows where we have come from, and what has made us into the person we are today.

I am broken, and I know without that brokenness, my life would be vastly different. Do I wish I had less cracks and crevices, areas that have fragilely been glued back together? Of course, but I also know that I have learned so much about life and have such love and compassion for others due to my brokenness. I look at the world with different eyes than many, and I have learned to see the beauty beneath and hope that one day the rest of the world will see the hidden beauty as well.

All my favorite people are broken, for it is those people who truly embrace the all of the beauty that this world has to offer.

2 thoughts on “All my favorite people are broken

Leave a Reply

